Looking for your advice

I am new to MTB and recently got this Grand Canyon 7 | CANYON CA a medium, (that was their suggestion even though my road bike from them was a large :man_shrugging:)

I think I have the seat pretty much dialled in but my hands feel heavy - like my handbars are too low for me. It looks like it was set up as high on the stem as it can go from the factory, (all the spacers are underneath). Am I looking at a longer stem now or is there something else I can do?

I will say that I have only ridden this once so far so I don’t know how much is me needed to get used to a different frame/style. It was very comfortable except for the hands.

Thanks.

You might be able to rotate the handlebars in the stem to raise them a little bit, but I don’t think you want to get a longer stem as that will slow down the responsiveness of the steering. What sort of terrain have you ridden it on so far? I tend to ride with my seat lower on my MTB compared to road/gravel bikes. I’m absolutely not an expert on mtb fit though.

Rotating the stem will bring it closer to me and will likely make it worse. Can I add another spacer? One of the thicker ones would likely be enough extra hight for me.

Just some trails so far.

If you have room, spacers should be fine.

Thanks. I will get some and try one of the 5mm ones.

Another option might be to replace the handlebars with ones with a larger rise.
For example these have a 30mm rise which is more then you’d get with spacers. I haven’t looked but I’m sure there are options with various heights. I’m not sure I’d recommend going that high, but a 15mm rise might help

or

Just in case you don’t have enough room on the steerer tube to add a spacer.

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion. I hadn’t considered changing the bar itself.

I am going to try adding a spacer first and see how that goes. Less $$$