Looking for some help fitting my TT bike

I am just getting started with time trials and looking into fitting my bike properly. I know some of the local stores offer fit services, but at $200 a pop I just cant go there. Already spent enough on new carbon rims ($800) and tires ($300) and my wife would not appreciate me spending even more. I have been watching some You-Tube on the subject and have used measurements from my road bike that I had a 3-D image fit done when I bought it, but it is a road bike and I am aware there are differences. SO, what I am hoping is there is someone out there who would be willing to help me do some more fine tuning, things like seat position, not height, but how far forward or back should it be. I read UCI rules say the front of the seat must be a minimum of 5cm behind the crank case?. There are other measurements for the handlebar heights and on and on and on. so, would anyone be willing to help out?

2 Likes

Hey David,

If you send me a video of you riding on the trainer from the front and side I’ll take a look at it and see if anything jumps out.

Uci rules are silly and I’m sure Chris will chime in about those.

fitservices@ziggyscycle.ca

-Alex

1 Like

Alex knows his stuff and I’m happy to help you out too :slight_smile:

What’s your height and how flexible are you?
What’s your road saddle height measured from the center of the BB up to the top of your saddle?

Rules for UCI events:

• Tip of saddle 5cm behind centre of BB
  • Aerobar extensions max 80cm from tip of shifter to centreline of BB measured on the horizontal plane
  • Aerobar pad height to tip of shifter in most upright position 10cm

Couple of things to think about when fitting:

• Is your crank length the same between road and TT bike?
  • Are you using the same saddle?