Request for prototype testers!

Hello all!

My name is David, and I’ve been a member of the club since 2019, although I’ve been a cyclist in the region since about 2013. Unfortunately I haven’t ridden as much as I would have liked this summer - a broken collarbone back in July certainly didn’t help. I’m also an engineer who likes to tinker.

I (along with two of my brothers) have developed what I’m calling a resistive training device that, in a nutshell, makes your cycling harder at lower speeds while road cycling outdoors. You throw the device on, and rather than needing 200W to travel at 30 kph, you now need 250W. The primary use-case would be to allow for cycling with others of different abilities while still getting exactly the workout you want. The way it works is by using high-power magnets to generate eddy currents in an aluminum wheel which creates resistance on the back wheel without needing to make contact with it. For those of you who are familiar with the STAC (now 4iiii) trainer, yes, it is based on the same technology. It sits on your seat tube, and has magnet arms which reach down to the rim. There are silicone strips which protect your paint, so only silicone and rubber bands are in contact with your frame. The device is completely silent, allows for adjustable resistance on the fly, doesn’t impact the ride feel at all, and can be put on/off in seconds.

The idea for the device was sparked by trying to get my partner into cycling and then looking into ebikes for her. After seeing how expensive ebikes were and not wanting to bike at painfully low watts if we both had regular bikes, I thought that rather than speed her up, I should figure out how to slow me down. Thus this project was born.

Here’s an example of it on my bike:

I’m looking for 4-8 people to test out a prototype on a few rides before we finalize our design. There are a few requirements: