Recommendations for a defensive cycling coach/class?

Hi!

I’m wondering if anyone can recommend a coach or classes on defensive cycling? (Even better if they’ve dealt with neurodivergent folks.)

I’ve had my first two crashes past 30 days because I’m a novice but I’m riding more frequently and probably more aggressively. One was a minor loose gravel wipe out, the other was at a triathlon where the route funneled the last 2 km (I couldn’t see the sign) and the person in front slowed right down at the merge and I full send over the handlebars from the curb. Basically, I need to learn how fall and assess the situation better (e.g. recognizing more signs of a slowdown).

Also, psychologically, what do you do to get riding again? (I have pretty bad anxiety and this seems like a healthy dose of trauma.)

Thanks and hope to ride with y’all again soon. Cheers!

-Janette

Hi Janette!

I would say practicing emergency maneuvers and bike handling skills is important. My favourite way to do this is on grass, at least to start :slight_smile: This helps with your ability to handle situations and also your confidence.

Some examples might be: braking hard (learn at what point the back wheel comes off the ground), cornering (balance speed and smooth line with traction risk), holding a straight line, holding a straight line while standing, smoothly transitioning to and from standing, drinking/eating while pedaling, standing over rough terrain, jumping/lifting the bike over rough terrain, riding the grassy CX practice courses the club runs in the fall, riding up to a wall and bumping your front tire off it and then riding away.

I think MarkW ran a cornering workshop in the past. Maybe that’s something that club members would consider doing more of?