CX at the Hydrocross

Took the Trek Boone to the Hydrocut on Friday after work. Had a wild and punishing ride, but overall very rewarding. That feeling of riding technical trails and always being on the edge on a CX bike is quite exciting!

Anyone else sending it on their CX or gravel bikes? I filmed a bunch with my GoPro and have a large video with more trails, but for now, I made a short edit of Jessica. It may seem tame to some of you super-fast MTB riders, but I personally set a pr on Jessica from this run.

4 Likes

It is a lot of fun. I have done most of the trails on my Gravel Dropbar bike. It can be rough but that is what makes it a challenge.

Huron woods is another good place to go as well as Columbia Forest and some woods down by Strasbourg Rd. I am sure there are other spots around here too.

1 Like

Nice! I’ll give those trails a look, thanks! I’m new to discovering these, appreciate the recommendations.

Totally rough, and like you said the challenge is worth it.

My main hydrocut whip is my Felt Breed with the thicc 650b WTB Ranger 2 inch tires on them. It shreds. I’ll probably be selling my x-caliber.

1 Like

I’ve been around most of the hydrocut on my cross bike. You have to constantly pay attention to your line with skinny tires so it’s far more engaging than a mtb. Any of the smooth flowing and uphill trails are amazing on a cx bike.

The comments I get while passing people are also entertaining. Everyone should give it a shot for a change of routine.

3 Likes

I have not done Adam’s Run, Kamikaze and Godzilla on the dropbar bike. Jumps and drops are a bit much. I have done all the others.

Also I skip a lot of the rock features.

It is fast but you can spin out the rear wheel pretty easy on roots. Also I got caught in a sudden thunderstorm on the CX bike at the hydrocut once - that made downhills really scary!

If you want a challenge on a dare I did try a few trails at Hydrocut on a fixie once. Once was enough.

1 Like

Love this build!