Cannonball XL Bikepacking Trip

After riding the cannonball route twice last year in one day I thought it would be a good warm up for the bikepacking season to do this type of route with such little elevation. Since the original 300km route is more suited to single day adventures I started playing around with extending it out to St Thomas and Port Stanley with some more railtrail and flat gravel roads. It wasn’t until the Monday before the long weekend when it was decided to take a crack at it and with campground still closed Matt’s other camping plans couldn’t happen, so he was able to come along.
Packing has become fairly routine with a couple years of camping trips so it was just a matter of organizing where everything was going to go. I had a new bigger frame bag which meant no water bottle would fit so I had to switch to a water bladder. I had rigged up a retractable keychain onto a 3D printed handlebar mount to hold the hose when not drinking.

This was also the first real test of my front rack that I had built. Other than a few planned modifications I was extremely happy with it and have some other ideas for the future of how to expand its versatility.

Rounding out the kit was my Arkel seatpacker 15, small top tube bag and the tool kit under my downtube. Fully loaded up with water the bike weighed in at 45lbs. Both Matt and I decided on 700c gravel tires since the route was mostly railtrail and paved roads.